Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania

You do not need to search all around the internet to find out about all the laws and regulations pertaining to auto insurance in Pennsylvania. All the key details are right here in this quick guide. With this information, Pennsylvania drivers can make sure they are compliant with state mandates.

Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania drivers must maintain liability auto insurance and carry proof of insurance at all times. Allowing auto insurance to lapse, or failing to carry proof of insurance, will lead to severe penalties. Potential punishment includes suspension of vehicle registration for up to three months. PennDOT handles auto insurance in the state and tracks all drivers. If they find that you operated your vehicle for more than 31 days without insurance, they could force you to surrender your license plate, driver’s license, and registration sticker for the duration of your suspension. There are fees associated with regaining driving privileges in Pennsylvania. The fees must be paid and proof of insurance must be provided before your suspension can end.

Here is a full list of potential penalties and expenses that will apply if you are caught operating a vehicle without proper insurance:

- A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
- A three month suspension of your vehicle registration
- A three month suspension of your driver’s license
- Restoration fees to restore your vehicle registration
- Restoration fees to restore your driver’s license
- Vehicle impoundment

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania

Liability auto insurance is required in Pennsylvania. Drivers are expected to maintain coverage that meets the following minimum standards:

- $15,000 bodily injury per person
- $30,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 total property damage per accident

You should consider going above and beyond the minimum standard when you shop for auto insurance in Pennsylvania. Most experts have found that state minimum coverage does not provide adequate protection for drivers. To fully protect yourself and your loved ones, you should enter your zip code in the form on this page and compare quotes for more comprehensive coverage from top providers.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania drivers are not expected to carry UM/UIM insurance.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania has a law that requires all drivers to maintain no-fault auto insurance. See below for details.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Pennsylvania no-fault auto insurance must come in the form of personal injury protection. The Commonwealth requires drivers to have PIP that includes medical benefits insurance to cover medical bills for you and your vehicle’s passengers regardless of fault. Coverage must equal at least $5,000.

SR-22 Requirements

No drivers are required to file SR-22 forms in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania's DUI Laws

Are you wondering about the potential penalties for a first time DUI offense? Here is a comprehensive list of the possible punishment a first time offender could face:

  • BAC (Blood Alcohol Count) 0.08% to 0.099%
    • Six month probation
    • $3,000 fine
    • Alcohol highway safety school
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.159%
    • Two days to six months imprisonment
    • $500 to $5,000 fine
    • One year license suspension
    • Possible restricted license available after 60 days
    • Possible ignition interlock required
    • Alcohol highway safety school
  • BAC 0.16%+
    • Three days to six months imprisonment
    • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
    • One year license suspension
    • Alcohol highway safety school
    • Possible restricted license available after 60 days
    • Possible ignition interlock required

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania

The Pennsylvania Department of Insurance can answer any other questions you may have about auto insurance in Pennsylvania. You can call them at (877) 881-6388 or find them online at www.insurance.pa.gov.

Choose Your State

Site Search